Former 49ers receiver Terrell Owens on Saturday was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame after being snubbed during his first two years of eligibility.

The vivacious receiver is second in NFL history with 15,934 yards receiving – behind only Jerry Rice – and ranks fifth with 156 total touchdowns. He played his first eight seasons with San Francisco before getting traded to the Eagles, then the Cowboys, Bills and Bengals as his 15-year career wound down.

Owens hinted at getting elected on social media before the announcement was made official Saturday evening at the NFL Honors show in Minneapolis ahead of Sunday’s Super Bowl.

Instagram Photo

Owens will be elected in the class with fellow receiver Randy Moss, linebackers Ray Lewis, Brian Urlacher and Robert Brazile, safety Brian Dawkins, offensive lineman Jerry Kramer and executive Bobby Beathard, the grandfather of 49ers backup quarterback C.J. Beathard.

San Francisco general manager John Lynch, a long-time safety with the Buccaneers and Broncos, was a finalist for the the second straight year but didn’t make the cut from 15 to 10 finalists, according to CSN Bay Area.

Owens was named to six Pro Bowls and named a first-team five times.

About the Author: Insidethe49

Insidethe49 Site Staff

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!